When you assign Gemini a task, it might need certain permissions before it can work on your task. If needed for your task, Gemini will ask for you permission to take actions, like:
- Use a browser to interact with a website
- Perform an action in a Google or third-party app
- Share information with a website or app
You can grant or deny permission in the task thread, and manage them in your settings, like Browser settings or Connected Apps settings.
Important: These settings are available in the Gemini mobile app, Gemini web app at gemini.google.com, and the Gemini app on Mac.
Grant or deny permissions in task threads
Gemini is designed to ask for your permission in the task thread before it uses a browser, makes a change in an app, or performs an action or shares info that you may find sensitive. You can allow the action once or save your preference so Gemini doesn’t have to ask every time for that action.
Tip: Gemini is designed to ask for your permission for actions that delete data or send messages or emails in Google apps, or handle sensitive third-party tasks, like payments or sharing sensitive info.
Your choices for permissions
When Gemini asks for you permission to take an action, your choices will vary depending on the feature or service being used. Here’s what they mean:
- Don’t allow: Declines the action. Gemini stops and won't continue with the action.
- Allow or Allow once: Approves the action for this specific step only. Gemini will ask again next time.
- Allow for this chat: Approves the action automatically for the rest of the current thread without changing your Connected Apps settings.
- This option is only available for connected Google products.
- To reset chat permissions, delete the task thread or start a new one
- Always allow: Approves the action for the current thread and all future task threads. Selecting this automatically updates your preference to “Always allow” in your settings.
Manage permissions for connected app actions
After you connect an app to Gemini Apps, you can control what actions Gemini can take, like actions that read, create, or delete information in that app. You can update permissions for app actions anytime in your Connected Apps settings. These permissions apply to all your task threads.
- On your computer, go to gemini.google.com.
- On a Mac, you can also open the Gemini app
.
- On a Mac, you can also open the Gemini app
- On the sidebar, click Customize
Connectors.
- If you don’t find “Customize,” first click More
.
- If you don’t find “Customize,” first click More
- Click the connected app you want to manage permissions for.
- Under “App actions,” next to the action, click the dropdown and select your permission preference:
- Always allow: Gemini runs this action without asking.
- Always ask: Gemini asks before running this action.
- Default preferences: Your Connected Apps settings set your default (“Always allow” or “Always ask”) across all task threads.
- Thread-specific choices: If you select “Allow once” or “Allow for this chat” in a task thread, it only applies to that step or chat. Your setting stays “Always ask” for future threads. To reset chat permissions, delete the task thread or start a new one.
- Saved preferences: If you select “Always allow” in a task thread, it updates that action to “Always allow” in your Connected Apps settings.
Manage browser preferences & settings
You can choose if Gemini must ask for permission before it opens a browser to work on your tasks. With a Google AI subscription, you can also choose how Gemini browses the web to complete your tasks.
- On your computer, go to gemini.google.com.
- At the bottom, click Settings
Browser
.
- If you have a Google AI subscription, under “Preferences,” select how Gemini browses the web:
- Let Gemini decide: Gemini uses either Chrome on your device or a remote browser for each task depending on availability.
- Remote browser only: This works when you’re away and your device isn’t available.
- To choose if Gemini asks permission to open a browser, next to “Permission,” click the dropdown and select your preference:
- Always allow: Gemini uses the web without asking.
- Always ask: Gemini asks before using the web.
Delete remote browser data
When Gemini uses the remote browser to complete tasks, browser data, like cookies that contain your website authentication info (your sign-in details), is saved for future sessions for your convenience. You can delete all saved browser data from past sessions, at any time. To help protect your privacy, Gemini may automatically delete saved browser data on your behalf, and you may need to sign back in to websites.
- On your computer, go to gemini.google.com.
- At the bottom, click Settings
Browser
.
- Next to “Delete remote browser data,” click Delete
.